What He did Was Low

I know it’s been a while since my last post. Working at JLS has definitely kept me busy throughout the day. It definitely tires me out by the end of the day to the point where all I want to do is go home and crash my bed. Obviously, I can’t do that especially with little Phillipe jumping on me and wanting to go play and go for a walk. But I felt like I needed to write this post because something really bad happened at JLS involving two people. One of them was me….ok not really bad…but maybe bad enough that it still hurts.

Since he got promoted to government services, I have started to help  Tyson on his various project assignments He is actually great to work with  because he is very meticulous about the details and making sure every single element in aligned.

Despite working closely with him,  Tyson  still kept his distance. I don’t get it. He is one of the hardest people to crack open (not literally). Most of my guy friends and the guys I’ve met in Boston are the most charismatic, friendly and outgoing people, I know. But Tyson is different. He chooses to close himself  up, as if he is hiding  something from me.

I confided this to Holly. She  suggested that I invite Tyson out for lunch to get to know him and possibly network with him professionally.  Originally, I thought it was a great idea. From my observations,  people in my office normally  go out to lunch together all the time…man and man, woman and woman, and man and woman. But  I did feel a little hesitant about asking him to lunch. Ok…I know it’s 2014, but I still found asking guys out weird. But  Holly reassured me it’s okay..

So on Friday afternoon, I found my  courage and went up  to Tyson’s  desk.

“Hi,” I said with a smile.

“Do you need something?”  he asked

“No. I just wanted to say you have been really helpful in getting me adjusted to working at JLS, “ I began “As a way of thanking you, I wanted to ask you to lunch.” He paused before answering.

“I think we need to be a little bit more professional.”

“What?” I was very caught off guard…not expecting that answer.

“I have a girlfriend.” Okay…definitely didn’t see that coming!

“Well…I am in a relationship too…if you haven’t noticed. And I’m sorry if I gave you mix messages. Having said that, I don’t think that should prevent us from networking as colleagues.”

“No I don’t do that,” he answered rather coldly. I decided to not push it further. If he doesn’t want to get to know me better, than fine. I almost stomped my way back to my desk.

I was so frustrated, angry and upset all at the same time. I could not understand why but I felt so hurt not to mention rejected. How could someone be so cold?

And did he really think I was attracted to him? Sure his strong work is admirable quality in a guy. But Tyson, on the outside and most parts of inside, is no Prince Charming.

Disney company movies candles beauty and the beast wallpaper

He is more the Beast….okay not the aggressive angry and ugly looking part…more the cold distanced part…

with a mix of the Tin man before he got back his heart.

I knew I could not let his rejection affect me  for the rest of the day or let my hurt feelings show. Otherwise staffers  would start office gossip. It was hard. All I wanted to do was go home and eat a huge pint of ice cream.

[HIMYM+Ice+Cream+Scoop.jpg]

This entry was posted in Belle's Relationships and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

