His Little Wife? No Sir Not Me!

After tonight, Ben and I are over! I know you are probably confused after the previous post. Here is what happened.

I met Ben at Stephanie’s for dinner ambience of Stephanie’s seemed to promise a romantic and relaxing evening.  The night was very warm with not much wind. The sky was clear. Our table was right by the window/glass door that was wide opened. My favorite part about Stephanie’s is that the layout had a large window/glass door that is opened with tables facing the Newbury Street sidewalk and you see people walking close by. Tonight was not as crowded so we had great service attention and we could enjoy the tranquil atmosphere. Little did I know, Ben had other plans?

“Cheers to gaining a potentially successful business partnership,” we first clinked glasses.

“So why did you have a sudden interest in JLS products?” I asked, not being able to help myself.

“I told you, my dad wants our facility management team to use JLS products to better operate our office’s building functions. We have researched and compared other companies and their products, and decided JLS is the best.”

“Ben Gaston Adams!” I cried clearly not satisfied.

“Okay, I may have persuaded dad to choose JLS because I would have a reason to visit you at work,” Ben admitted.

“I knew it!” I squeaked with a smile.

“Well I did get another reward out of my business deal.”

“And what’s that?”

“Dad has promoted me to Portfolio Manager.”

“Oh wow. That is wonderful honey.” I felt very proud of him and immediately gave him a kiss. “I’m so glad your hard work has paid off and you are being recognized.”

Then the evening took a sudden turn.

“There is also something I want to ask you,” Ben said getting very serious.

“Oh?” “I’ve been thinking a lot about us. You know, we’ve been together for 5 years through thick and thin.”

“Yeah My stomach started to flutter with butterflies.

“And I think we should take our relationship to the next step.” I stared at him with a weird look on my face.

“Okay…like renting an apartment together?”

“No more than that.” He then got down on his knee and my nerves started to escalate as Ben took out and opened a velvet box. “Bellamy Woods, will you marry me?”

At that moment, I felt speechless and did not know what to say. Honestly, I felt like throwing up. However, once I calmed myself down and gave some thought. I knew the answer.

“I’m sorry, Ben. I can’t marry you.”

“What?” Ben almost screamed, clearly not expecting this response. He then got up and sat back down on his chair, feeling rejected.

“At this point, I want to focus on my career,” I reminded him.

“No…I meant you don’t’ have to worry about work or money. You can just stay home,” he said acting as if that was a good idea.

“But I want to work. You know I want to ultimately be a publisher,” I reminded him.  ”

“And what if you don’t succeed? Your first job isn’t exactly releasing the next 50 Shades of Grey.” I gawked at him.

“I know. But I’m working towards that. Mrs. Potts has been putting me on projects that will build my professional skills that will marketable to publishing companies. I have also been doing a lot of networking.”

“And do you have a back-up plan if this doesn’t work out?”

“I will get there eventually as long as I work for it and push myself. It may take a few years and I might pursue an MBA along the way.”

“Have you thought about us? Getting married and starting a family.” I stared at him dumbfounded. Did he think I was going to give it all up just to stay home and take care of the kids and massage his feet when he comes home from work?

“I have. But I want to wait till I move up in my career.” I then knew what I had to. “If you don’t want to wait, then it’s over.” I got up and grabbed my handbag and just walked out, not really caring that I was causing a scene in the restaurant with all the diners and service staff watching. As I walked down the pavement of Newbury Street, I felt happier and free.

My Formal Attire

Of course, I want to get married eventually and have a family of my own. But I also want to venture to great wide somewhere, take risks, pursue the highest level of professionalism and be the boss of a successful publishing company. And for once, it might be grand, to find someone who understands that I am so much more than they’ve got planned.

This entry was posted in Belle's Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

