Take A Chance On Me

Fortunately, the next morning was Saturday. I would not have to face Tyson until Monday morning. I have time to clear my head and think.

 

I  took  Phillipe out for a walk/run after breakfast in the park since the weather was bright and sunny. The air was not too cold. At least both of us can stimulate our minds and bodies with the fresh air in our faces. After running for a good 15 minutes around the park, we both took a break. Well I took break and sat down on the bench. Phillipe decided to bark at the other dogs passing by and ran over to the dog playground to join his friends.

Westiepoo

While watching him closely, my mind drifted to Tyson.

Tyson has really come out of his shell since we became friends. I feel really comfortable around him. I also find myself can easily confide in him. When he senses that I’m having a bad day at work, he cheers me up by buying me bubble tea or taking me out to eat at Flour Bakery. Most importantly, Tyson respects me and my goals. He is willing to show his genuine support and we share similar values. Tyson even stood up for me at work when Mr. Byrne reprimanded me for not being at my desk when packages arrived and I was in the middle of making copies of the latest subscription sales in the backroom.

I know I will leave JLS eventually. Maybe I can start dating Tyson after I leave. We can just stay friends. That way, we can avoid any conflict. But, honestly, I don’t want to wait that long.

Or, we can date on the down low and be official when I get my next job. But then, we would run into the risk of getting caught. What if Tyson throws me under bust when we do? What if I end up like Kerry? No. He won’t do that. I trust him and we have a good group of supportive friends and colleagues.

But am I ready for another relationship after breaking up with Ben? I need to focus on myself and my career.

But I can take things slowly with Tyson and figure it out as we go. We can discover each other emotionally and mentally. Dating is not a fast track….to marriage. Our relationship does not have to be an office romance. We can still act professional and friendly colleagues in the office and have relationship outside.

If the relationship does not work out, we can be friends.

Ok. I know what I want to do.

After returning home and feeding Phillipe, I changed out of my sweats and headed back out to catch the red line train down to South Station and transferred to the commuter rail to Marlborough.

What am I doing? I can wait until Monday. No. I don’t want to miss my chance.

The smooth weekend commute to Marlborough made the train ride shorter by 20 minutes. After getting off the station, I google mapped my way to Tyson’s house. Fortunately his house was not far from the station. I took a deep breath before  knocking on the door. My heart skipped a beat when Tyson opened the door.

“Hello Belle,” he said, clearly surprised to see me. “What are you doing here?”

“I was in the neighborhood running errands and decided to stop by,” I stuttered.

“Oh come on in,” he showed me into the living room. “Would you like anything to drink?”

“Water would be fine,” I answered, realizing how parched my throat was. Tyson nodded and headed to the kitchen. I sat down on the couch nervously looking at the floor. My mind started to wonder what if he turns me down and breaks the news that he got back together with his ex-girlfriend. Maybe he changed his mind and realized dating someone from work is a mistake. He soon returned and handed me a glass of water. I took a sip.

“So besides running errands, why did you come?” Tyson asked straight-forwardly. He remained standing with his arms folded. My heart started to quiver as I looked directly in his eyes. I put the glass of water down on the coffee table and stood up.

“Because I couldn’t wait till Monday to tell you that yes I want to go out with you and be your girlfriend,” I declared.

“You do?” Tyson said, his eyes lighting up. I nodded with a smile.

“Yes I am willing to take a chance on you…on us,” I took his hands in mine and squeezed them.

“What made you decide?” His full face was beaming.

“I realized how much my attraction to you has grown since you came to my apartment on that rainy night. The feelings I have for you was  hard to admit even to myself. But I think about you every day. It’s the things that you do that makes my heart flutter. Like getting that special room in the Boston Public Library. You spin my world around.” I stroked his face with my fingers. “I want to be with you and see how great it could be.”

“Do you mean it?” he asked in a soft voice.

“Yes,” I said feeling more confident and relieved that I finally expressed how I really felt. “I want to take a risk no matter what others say.”  I gave him a kiss on his cheek. Hey! I told you we have to go slow. I was happy that I made the right decision. He gave me a hug and lifted me up and spun me around.

Our small celebration was interrupted when the front door opened and we heard feet walking. We both turned around startled to see Tyson’s mother walking in.

“Hello Tyson,” she greeted. “And who is this?”

“This is Belle,” Tyson introduced. He paused before putting his arm around my shoulder. “My girlfriend.” I couldn’t help but notice the big grin on his face.

“Oh…nice to meet you Belle,” she greeted with a smile despite looking totally off guard. “Will you be staying for dinner?”

I looked over at Tyson before answering yes.

I know you know
There’s something here
But you cannot get past the fear
I can help you make it clear.

So when you feel like trying again
Reach out, take my hand
See how great it could be
To fall in love with someone you can trust
Who would never give up
‘Cause you’re all that he needs
Baby take a chance on me

Take A Chance On Me – JLS 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Belle's Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

