Deeper

Tyson was scheduled to travel to DC for a week. And, he asked me to spend the following weekend with him in the capital since it was Memorial Day Weekend.  At first, I felt excited but hesitant at the same time. Not only did I worry about drawing any suspicion, I also felt unsure if I am ready to take our relationship to the next level. This would be the first time we would be spending a whole weekend alone together. But I trusted Tyson enough to know that he would not push me into anything I did not want to do.

Fortunately Fridays are our slow days at JLS so I was able to leave early and take a flight down to DC. To ward off any questions, I told people that I am going out of town to visit friends.

Tyson met me at the airport and to my relief, booked me a separate room from his at the hotel. Our weekend ended up being a relaxing one. I am happy to report that Tyson stayed off his laptop and work phone the entire time. Tyson actually impressed me with planning every detail of the entire weekend. He even avoided speaking about work the whole weekend despite presenting a successful business plan to the partners in the capital.

Jefferson Memorial in Spring

Washington, DC at the Tidal Basin and Jefferson Memorial during the spring cherry blossom season.

 

Spring had fully begun in DC with the cherry blossoms in full bloom and clear skies. The weather was not too hot and not too cold.

Since it was my first time in Washington, we definitely did the typical tourist stuff. We visited the Lincoln Memorial.

We ate a picnic lunch at Meridian Hill Park.

We took a bunch of pictures in front of the White House, Capitol Hill and the Supreme Court. We spent time at the National Museum of American History where I dragged Tyson all the way to the First Ladies’ Exhibit so I can see the dresses the First Ladies wore to the presidential inaugurations.  He actually enjoyed it.

Tyson even surprised me with a candle lit dinner at Art and Soul on the restaurant’s patio. The sun had just set and the restaurant hung lights above us. We had the whole patio to ourselves since most diners chose to eat inside the restaurant. It was so romantic and delicious.   Tyson had the 12oz ribeye and I had the royal sea bass and we shared an artisan cheese board.

After dinner, we took an evening stroll along the Washington Mall. After a while, we stopped at the edge of the reflecting pool with the Monument in full view. Tyson gazed into my eyes, squeezing my hands and inhaling deeply. And that’s when he said finally said the words.

“I love you,” he said softly, barely above a whisper. I gasped, my heart skipped a beat.

“What?” I couldn’t believe my ears.

“I love you,” he beamed, his eyes glowing. My heart skipped a beat again. He kissed my hand.

“I love you too,” wrapping my arms around his neck and giving him a big kiss on the lips. After pulling away, Tyson breathed a sigh of relief.

“You don’t know how nervous I was about telling you this,” Tyson confessed.

“Why?” I asked caressing his face with my hand.

“Because I was afraid you wouldn’t feel the same way. That’s why I planned this whole weekend just to tell you.”

“Of course I feel the same way,” I smiled back at him. “You make me happy.”

“Well I love making you happy,” he grinned. “Cause you make me happy. And no one has made me feel the way you make me feel. And I never ever expressed these words to someone before you.”

“Really?” I felt happy tears streaming down my face.

“Yes.” We kissed again, this time a very long passionate kiss. After pulling away, I slipped my arm into his and we walked back to the hotel. We stopped outside my room.

“Do you want to come in?” I asked, surprising myself realizing what I just asked him. I noticed Tyson’s eyes widened. He then smiled.

“Sure.” We entered my room. I kicked off my shoes. Tyson took off his jacket and placed it on a chair. He then came up from behind me and wrapped his arms around my waist. He kissed my cheek. He smelled of fresh grass with hints of the steak he ate earlier. I leaned my back a little against his body with ease and closed my eyes. I felt his lips trailing down my neck. I turned around to face him and we shared another kiss. The next thing I know, we are lying on my bed with Tyson on top of me in full make-out session. I was about to lift up my shirt until Tyson  stopped me.

“Why did you stop?” I stared at him confused. He gave small smile and got off the bed. He took my hands off his.

“I think we are moving too fast. I just told you I loved you. I also have so much respect for you that I think we should take things one step at a time until we’re both ready,” he answered. His voice sounding gentle and soft.

“Okay,” I said, making me appreciate him even more. I also found myself feeling more relieved that I put my trust in the right person.

“Good night,” he kissed my forehead before exiting my room.

After he left, it dawned on me that I was really falling for him. Deeper. Head over heels.  And I hope this love is for real this time.

I know that we’re moving too fast
But I can’t let go and it may not last but
I’m going deeper, deeper head over heels
I go deeper, deeper
And I hope it’s for real this time

Deeper – The Saturdays

This entry was posted in Belle's Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

