Two In the Morning

Later that night I hear my phone buzzing while I am deeply asleep. Gazing over at my digital clock, the time is 2 in the Morning. Who could be calling me at this hour? It better not be one of those annoying telemarketers.

Upon checking caller id, Tyson’s name pops up.

“Tyson?” I managed to croak out.

“Hey Belle. I’m sorry to wake you. Can we talk?”

“Tyson, it’s 2 in the morning,” I groaned, frustrated not to mention annoyed. “Can’t it wait till daytime?”

“Again I apologize from disturbing your sleep. But I’ve been thinking a lot about our fight earlier.  I want get some things off my chest so you don’t stay angry at me. I’m outside your apartment.” I sighed. I am angry he woke me up. Part of me wanted him to suffer and spend the whole night waiting inside his car.  But I am a better person than that.

I rolled out of bed causing Phillipe to stir, who always sleeps at the foot of my bed. Flipped on the light switch. I put on a sweater over my pjs and made my way out to the main apartment building door to see Tyson standing on the sidewalks, hands in his pockets.

“Hi,” he greeted with a weak smile.  I motioned him to the bench outside the apartment.  He took my hands in his.

“I’m sorry about snapping at you earlier. I didn’t mean for those hurtful words to come out like that. I should have been more sensitive.”

“You should.” I am not letting him get off easily.

“I know.” He paused before continuing. “Growing up, my dad was my hero. He and I were the best of friends. I wanted to be just like him. We did almost everything together. To me, he could do no wrong. He taught me the importance of being authentic, loyal and faithful as well as hard work.” He then turned his eyes down to the gravel. “Then one day, I marched into his office after school when I was 14 years old. I found my father’s secretary sitting on his desk with her with shirt unbuttoned almost to the point where her bra was almost showing. My father standing there, his hair messy with her lipstick all over his face.”

I gasped with my hand over my mouth, not believing what Tyson witnessed. “At that moment, I immediately turned and stormed out of his office. And you know the worst part?”

“What?”

“He came home later that day acting as if nothing happened. Our relationship began to drift apart.  My mother eventually found out without me telling her. They started fighting and he walked out two months later. They divorced within a year. I had just realized that I had been listening to a hypocrite this whole time. A man who claims the significance of loyalty and truthfulness. And he cheats on his wife. To this day, I never forgave him despite him trying to reconcile with me.” I could see little tears coming out his eyes and he sniffed a bit.  “Which was why I started having a hard time to trusting people.”

“When my father showed up out of the blue today, I just became so angry. All of a sudden, I felt all those old wounds coming back and I found myself closing up again. And I took it out all on you.” Though he appeared exhausted, he seemed genuinely apologetic. “I lashed out on the one person whom I cared about the most. I’m sorry, Belle. Will you forgive me?”

“If we are going to move on like this, we need to have more transparency. We can’t hide secrets from each other. We need to trust each other.” I needed to give him an ultimatum and still stand my ground. I wasn’t giving in that easily.

“I agree,” he nodded and squeezing my hand. “From now on, I promise to tell you everything especially things that bother me the most.”

“I forgive you.” He hugged me tightly and kissed my forehead and caressed my cheek. “Well I should go. It’s getting late..well early.”  He was about to head back to his car but I stopped him.

“I don’t want you to fall asleep by the wheel. How about you stay the night?” My heart skipped a beat.

“Sure. I have some extra clothes in my car and I don’t have work at the club anyways tomorrow.” He followed me back into my apartment. Phillipe immediately started barking happily and jumped on Tyson. I stood for a moment debating whether to let him sleep on the couch or… my bed.

I could still feel my heart  pumping.

“Do you want to cuddle tonight?” motioning to my bed as Tyson took off his jacket. He stared at me for moment as if questioning my instincts.  “It would be more comfortable than the couch,” I offered. .

“Okay,” he smiled before heading to the bathroom to wash up. I sat for a moment and wondered am I going too fast? I mean we just made up from our first fight and he revealed a bunch of things of his past. This is the farthest (not to mention earliest) I’ve gone with a guy in inviting him over to my apartment for one night after 5 months of dating. But we are just cuddling and keeping each other warm. No harm in that right?

Tyson finally emerged from the bathroom in his boxers but still with his t-shirt on. I breathe a sigh of relief…though I wouldn’t mind seeing him… with his bare chest. He sat down next to me on the bed.

“If you don’t want me to lie down next to you, I’ll be happy to take the couch,” he noticed my uneasiness.

“No. I want you to be next to me,” I assured him.  We pulled the covers and lied down. He wrapped his arms around me.  I’m not going to lie but his embrace  felt  warm and comforting, not to mention secured. I soon found myself snuggling a little closer to his body, his warm breath against  my neck.

“I love you,” he whispered softly in my ear.

Within minutes, we both fell asleep.

This entry was posted in Belle's Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

